Quote #42

“The only thing worse than a man you can’t control is a man you can.”
– Margo Kaufman

Over the years I’ve worked with all sorts of people. I must say, it has been frustrating trying to work with some of them. No matter how hard you try to help, influence, or direct them, they do whatever they want (for better or for worse).

It’s infuriating really, but I suppose it’s better than the alternative.

Sure, being humble, teachable, and a good follower – those are all great traits. I don’t think having those traits makes you a controllable man.

But when I look around me at the way people are living reactive lives – reacting to this, responding to that, and all in the precise manner that was intended by the creator of the media – I see a bunch of sad little people who have no idea they aren’t thinking for themselves.

I am glad that I was taught to think for myself as a child. I am not bound by what the masses feel, think, believe, or wish. I am bound by my own will and my agency.

I hope that I can teach my children similar principles.

Leave a comment